Frederick Knight – 1973 – I’ve Been Lonely For So Long

Southern soul rarely if ever sounded so, so good. Simultaneously smooth and raw, “Lonely” has an immediacy that hits you where you live and then sticks around for a little while, taking up space on your sofa.

Frederick Knight’s catchy “I’ve Been Lonely for So Long” was a sizable RB hit on Stax in 1972, and he wrote and produced Anita Ward’s across-the-board smash “Ring My Bell” in 1979. Knight cut his own “I’ve Been Lonely for So Long” in Birmingham, Alabama with a seasoned southern soul crew behind him, and hit again in 1975 with “I Betcha Didn’t Know That“.

This is a @320 vinyl rip of my original record with covers.

A1. I’ve Been Lonely for So Long 3:20
A2 This Is My Song of Love to You 3:14
A3 Take Me on Home Witcha 3:20
A4 Friend 3:28
A5 I Let My Chance Go By 3:54
A6 Your Love’s All over Me 2:46
B1 Pick’um up Put’um Down 3:31
B2 Now That I’ve Found You 3:02
B3 Lean on Me 3:05
B4 Trouble 3:09
B5 Someday We’ll Be Together 4:40

Frederick Knight - 1973 - I've Been Lonely For So Long back

Mr. Knight uses his fine falsetto to best effect on the title song, which made it to #8 in the R&B charts in 1972. He also plays piano, organ, drums and percussion all over this self-produced 1973 Stax reissue. The album has plenty of fine songs. “ I Let A Chance Go By” is a wonderful mid-tempo look at regret and misery. Could it be a woman making Frederick so unhappy? Possibly. The vaguely doo-wopish ‘Now That I’ve Found You” is also worth a play or ten. Knight can manage funky, too, as he does on “Your Love’s All Over Me/ Take Me On Home Witcha/ Pick ‘Um Up, Put ‘Um Down”. His cover of ‘Someday We’ll Be Together” is great.

Frederick Knight was one of the many crooning Soul singers that signed to Stax. The title cut is a perfect example of his style with its light and catchy air led by Knight’s singing and the guitar. Trouble is in a similar vein. On the other hand, Friend and Lean On Me show a down home southern Soul feel to them, while ‘Take Me On Home Witcha” and “I Let My Change Go By” are more upbeat numbers. There’s also “Your Love’s All Over Me” and “Pick Um Up, Put Um Down” that get a little funky, especially the former track that has a little James Brown in it. Knight is even able to add his how style to the Motown song “Someday We’ll Be Together” that ends the album. The funky numbers are an added bonus, but it’s really the Soul of the record that holds its value.

Buy the AlbumFrederick Knight – 1973 – I’ve Been Lonely For So Long


Conversation for album: Frederick Knight – 1973 – I’ve Been Lonely For So Long

  • albgardis
    Posted at 00:52h, 12 November 2008 Reply

    Another nice album I did not know before.
    I will come back to your blog, you really have surprising great albums to discover here.
    Very nice! Thank you!

  • pedro
    Posted at 01:37h, 12 December 2008 Reply

    fred had sweet soul voice wth a bit of grunt and a great composer to boot thanks for a top site

  • out2gecha
    Posted at 00:40h, 30 January 2009 Reply

    Good Stax music. Thanks!

  • Haylee
    Posted at 15:07h, 26 February 2009 Reply

    Thanks for this.

    You really have a nice blog going here. 🙂

  • Ricardo
    Posted at 00:16h, 20 October 2009 Reply

    Title track was a biggie back in the day but theres other stuff on here that will make your ears smile! Thanks for this vintage classic!

  • Dave
    Posted at 05:20h, 11 July 2011 Reply

    This recording is one of a kind. It is sparse but funky. In my opinion, despite its simplicity, it is one of the best recordings ever cut.

    Ever since I heard it on Felix Hernandez’ “Rhythm Revue” on WBGO, I have always liked it. Thanks.

  • Chris
    Posted at 22:58h, 23 March 2015 Reply

    Hi I’m looking for a great soul version of Let The Sunshine In that I heard in a club. I have listened to most versions (Ronnie Dyson, Fifth Dimension, Diana Ross etc) but they are not the right one or at least they don’t sound like the one I am looking for. A quick check on Discogs and I discovered that Frederick Knight also recorded a version, which I cannot find on youtube. So if anyone can post it I would be eternally grateful. Hopefully it is the one I am looking for.

Post A Comment

Anti Spam: Please complete the following before clicking on *add comment* *