Read Reviews, Buy the Album or Download the Album for free

The Whole Darn Family – 1976 – Has Arrived

Read Reviews, Buy the Album or Download the Album for free

The Whole Darn Family’s debut “Has Arrived” is a classic slab of funky, soulful goodness. Originally released in 1976 and similar to War, the Ohio Players and Brick, “Has Arrived” featured the hit single “Seven Minutes of Funk.” That song has been sampled dozens of times, most notably by Jay-Z, EPMD and Grandmaster Flash.

The Whole Darn Family were a popular Richmond,Va group who were managed by “Mr.Wiggles” aka August Moon. The group performed up and down the east coast even making it out to The Soul Train program during the late 70’s. The record has many Soul-Funk gems penned by August Moon and Little Tommy. The big hit on this record was “7 minutes of Funk” which has been sampled by The Wu Tang Clan,Biggie Smalls,Lil Kim and other Hip Hop artist.

A rare gem of a disc if you can find the original recording.

A1 You Know That You Lied 3:07
A2 Fly Away Love Bird 3:07
A3 Leave Me Alone 3:13
A4 Seven Minutes Of Funk 7:00
B1 Ain’t Nothing But Something To Do 5:41
B2 New Yorkin 3:41
B3 I’m Hurt 3:47
B4 Stuck On Yourself 3:30

AllMusic Review by Andrew Hamilton

A seven-strong miscegenation band (augmented by a six-piece horn section) from Richmond, VA, featuring the production and writing skills of August Moon and lead vocalist Tyrone Thomas. Moon previously recorded obscure R&B tunes (“Wasted Years” on O’Gee Records) with no success. He co-produced this album with Thomas at the Sound Pit in Atlanta, GA, but he isn’t a member of the Whole Darn Family. The tunes range from driving soul sounds as in “You Know That You Lied” to more complex numbers like “Fly Away Love Bird“, which exhibits Joel Smither’s lovely flute.

The seven-minute instrumental “Seven Minutes of Funk” is funk-fused with jazz elements, accented by Steve Carey‘s synthesizer, Woody Hughes’ emphatic bass playing, Tommy Bryant and Kenny Mimms‘ sweet guitar licks, and Thomas’ steady drumming.

A funky “Ain’t Nothing to Do“, unleashes a rock guitar punctuated by O. T. Young’s conga beats and keyboardist Clinton Smith‘s solid playing. The teary “I’m Hurt” has a strong Al Green and Otis Redding vibe.