The Chapparrals – 1978 – Shake Your Head

The Chapparrals Shake Your Head front

Very hard to find and highly in demand holy grail soul funk lp composed by The Chapparrals in 1978.

This obscure nine men combo from Atlanta deliver a heavy funk masterpiece including the killer downtempo hip funk track “Shake your Head” as well as the second part done more in a disco funk vein, my favourite track “Coming to you”, the dance filler “Jam Around the World” and the instrumental funk “Juicy Fruit”!!! There are some other solid tracks like “Hittin’ it” and some great x-over and sweet soul numbers too!!!

A1 Hittin’ It 3:50
A2 Stop Cheating On My Lady 3:45
A3 Juicy Fruit 3:35
A4 Shake Your Head – Part 1 5:15
A5 Shake Your Head – Part 2 4:04
B1 Country Girl 5:50
B2 Coming To You 4:26
B3 The Brew 3:31
B4 Just Be You 4:30
B5 Jam Around The World 3:59

The Chapparrals Shake Your Head back

Released in 1978, this was the only album recorded by this super hot Atlanta, Georgia band. The Chapparrals were known for their wild onstage antics, their funky sounds and for taking no prisoners when they opened for any of the neumerous recording acts that they had the pleasure of working with back in the ’70s.

These guys are a perfect summation of that groove – and the album’s a blistering blend of bassy rhythms and tight instrumentation – including some mighty sweet keyboards that snake wonderfully alongside the guitar and horns, sometimes with some wild moogy touches that are almost P&P funk.

They performed with notables like The Commodores, The Isley Brothers, Sly & The Family Stone, Marvin Gaye, Graham Central Station, Kool & The Gang, Parliamant Funkadelic and many others. The album is a compilation of hot, stingy tunes with horns, smooth ballards with strings, and both fast and slow “funky” songs with heavy rhythmic passages. Ten songs in all! If you can get your hands on one, hold on to it!