Read Reviews, Buy the Album or Download the Album for free

Jimmy Briscoe And The Beavers ‎- 1977 – Jimmy Briscoe And The Beavers

Read Reviews, Buy the Album or Download the Album for free

Discovered by music promoter Paul Kyser at a talent show in Baltimore in the early 1970’s, five young men from Baltimore inspired by the Jackson 5 and calling themselves Jimmy Briscoe & the Little Beavers made quite an impression with the public; which led to a number of singles released on Atlantic Records beginning in 1971, and then for the Buddah Records subsidiary Pi Kappa.

A full length album followed entitled “My Ebony Princess” which was reviewed as a “top album pick” by Billboard magazine in 1974. The group’s sophisticated vocal harmony set them apart from the other groups, though lack of distribution left them relatively unknown to the public. The group’s original lineup was Jimmy Briscoe, Stanford Stansbury, Kevin Barnes, Maurice Pulley, and Robert Makins. Bobby Finch replaced Makins in 1977 and the group dropped the “Little” from its name becoming Jimmy Briscoe & The Beavers.

Changing with the times, the group released some adventurous disco style albums during the late 70’s and eventually disbanded, never really finding the proper distribution they sorely needed to survive.

A1 No One Can Love You Like I Do 3:48
A2 Invitation To The World 5:28
A3 So Sweet The Love (You Gave To Me) 4:14
A4 Living For Today 5:24
B1 I’ll Make You Happy 4:02
B2 True Love (Is Worth More Than Gold) 5:29
B3 Ain’t Nothing New Under The Sun 4:04
B4 Here’s Love Coming At You 4:26
B5 More Than You Realize 3:04

By Andrew Hamilton

Jimmy Briscoe, Stanford Stansberry, Kevin Barnes, Maurice Pulley, and Robert Makins were the original Jimmy Briscoe & the Little Beavers. Bobby Finch replaced Makins in 1977. The Jersey City, NJ-based group debuted with Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers’ “Why Do Fools Fall in Love” on Atlantic Records in the fall of 1971. Paul Kyser, their manager and mentor, produced the side and its flip “Sugar Brown“.

Atlantic never issued anything else from them; their follow-up, “Together, Together (We’ll Make a Way)“, appeared on J City Records the following year. Six well-received releases — from 1973 to 1976 — followed on the Pi Kappa label, including local/regional favorites “My Ebony Princess“, “Where Were You” and “I Only Feel This Way When I’m Near You“. But nothing sold enough to merit an appearance on the nationally syndicated Soul Train television program.

When Finch joined they dropped the Little and became Jimmy Briscoe & the Beavers. They cut the rousing disco tune “Invitation to the World” on Wanderick records in 1977; Kyser did a licensing deal with TK Records, but the additional clout didn’t make the record take off as expected. A final release, the spacy “Into the Milky Way” mixed by Bobby DJ Guttadaro, bounced out on Salsoul Records in the summer of 1979. When it didn’t cause a stampede to record outlets, they disbanded and pursued other endeavors.