Debra Hurd – 1983 – Debra Hurd

Debra Hurd

Super rare desirable and excellent SOUL FUNK FEMALE LP, produced by WAYNE HENDERSON

Check price here

In the words of the freestylemaniac:


 Debra Hurd is well known among boogie lovers for her one and only LP released in ’83 on the US Geffen Records label as a promo issue. It’s almost impossible to get!

Hug Me Squeeze Me was issued as a double a-sided record and is one of the two cuts from the album released as singles (the other is the cooler trackGotta Broken Heart). As far as we know, Debra never managed to reach major success that she deserved after ’83… She unfortunately passed away in 1994 after a car accident…

A1 Hug Me, Squeeze Me 4:07
A2 Gotta Broken Heart Again 3:55
A3 With You 3:57
A4 Tell Me You Love Me 4:18
A5 When A Boy Meets A Girl 3:39
B1 Crazy About Your Love 4:07
B2 Make Me No Promises 3:29
B3 Never Forgot Your Eyes 4:23
B4 Love To Burn 3:39
B5 Gotta Give Your Love A Try 3:52

The song is produced by brilliant musician Wayne Henderson and stands as a perfect example of what boogie sounded like back in ’83. The 7” issue does include exactly the same tracklist and length as the 12” and LP versions.

The follow up was another mid-tempo single “Gotta Broken Heart”, from the same LP.This is a cover of Prince’s “Gotta Broken Heart Again” from his ‘Dirty Mind’ album. Debra’s version appeared on the Billboard Hot Black Singles chart on July 16, 1983. It made it up to #62 and was on the chart for 6 weeks.