Betty Wright – 1974 – Danger High Voltage

Danger! Hi-Voltage is an apt title for Betty Wright’s finest hour. It contains three R&B hits — “Shoorah! Shoorah!“, “Where Is the Love” and “Tonight Is the Night” — but also features an array of other tasty tracks, including the heart-tugging “That’s When I’ll Stop Loving You.”
It is included in Mojo’s Magazine 100 greatest soul albums of all time.

A1 Everybody Was Rockin’ (3:48)
A2 Love Don’t Grow On A Love Tree (3:01)
A3 Show You Girl (2:38)
A4 Come On Up (2:59)
A5 Shoorah! Shoorah! (2:55)
B1 Where Is The Love (4:55)
B2 That’s When I’ll Stop Loving You (3:23)
B3 Don’t Thank Me Baby, Thank Yourself (2:54)
B4 Tonight Is The Night (4:00)

Danger High Voltage” is Betty Wright’s best album. Released as it was during the heyday of disco, it struggles against sounding dated, but it mostly shines. Betty’s voice is one of the most solid of the period’s female R&B singers, equally at home with tender ballads and surging dance tunes. The Toussaint-penned “Shoorah shoorah” is worth the price of admission, but there really isn’t an unlistenable tune on the album.

Buy it


Download Link


Share This Post


  1. Anonymous says:


  2. Anonymous says:

    track 6 is missing? track 7 uploaded twice

  3. David says:

    I’ve been looking for the original version of “Tonight is the Night.” Really been tired of the live version.

    This web site rules!

  4. n69n says:

    Betty Wright is my ***NUMBER ONE FAVORITE***!!!

    …coz not only does she groove, she really gives good advice, too!!!

  5. Victor says:

    This is a hard album to find online – thanks for sharing.

  6. cleffdeadly says:

    to be able to listen to these albums in their original state is amazing. thank you for sharing them…

  7. Big Chuck says:

    It’s very, very rare to hear the original version of “Tonight is the Night”, only the live version. Thanks for posting it.

  8. Troods says:

    Thank you for Betty’s old albums. I’m so amazed with the work you’ve done. I feel like I’m in a musical time machine, just dippin’ and groovin’. You’re great.

  9. Ben says:

    Thanks for the post
    you make a very good blog !

  10. omi says:

    I have things to do and can’t off your site!!! Like it should be! thxxxx!

  11. Matt Parker says:

    Absolutely awesome!!
    This has to be one the best sites i’ve ever visited.
    Many thanks!

  12. lee spencer says:

    fab just bought on e bay, well you have got to treat yourself, vnyly addicted, mwhax

  13. Dave says:

    No doubt this girl can sing. I had some of these songs on a vinyl live recording and I sure played the hell out of it. Thank you so much.

  14. Hoby says:

    I just firstly want to say I appreciate this blog so very much. I have discovered so many gems through this site and what you guys do is amazing.
    I have come to love Betty Wright, especially the song “Tonight is the Night”. Anyway I was wondering if you could rerecord that song in higher quality, I love it so much but the quality makes it hard to play on loud speakers.

  15. Nikos says:

    New links added.

Leave a Reply

eight − 4 =